Levels Of Reiki


How many reiki levels are there?

What do each of these levels mean, and why do they exist?

Are all of the levels required for you to obtain before you progress in your studies?

There are three levels of reiki. If you’re looking to get started learning and practicing reiki, you will begin at level one. There’s nothing you need to do in order to qualify for this level, other than to be interested and have an open mind as you progress in your studies.

Each level has different meanings and can help the student focus on different areas of reiki healing. There are specific skills that must be obtained before students can pass to the next level and eventually become a Reiki Master.

When you want to begin studying reiki yourself, take time to look around and find a reiki master who offers classes. You can find classes either in person or online, but no matter which you choose, you should study with someone who has experience and knows what they’re doing when it comes to teaching others.

Some reiki courses may take a month, while others may take a year or more. Find the one that has the features and covers the topics you’re looking for, and you’ll be well on your way to a better and more thorough understanding of reiki in no time.

Learn more about the levels of reiki below.

Option 1

Otherwise known as: Shoden, or the First Degree of Reiki

  • Topics that will be learned:
    • Level 1 reiki students will learn how to physically open channels of energy. This will make it easier for them to connect with energy that is flowing around and through them, and energy that comes from the universe itself.
    • At this level, practitioners will learn more about how to perform reiki on and for themselves, rather than for others. Although this may sound selfish, it’s actually crucial to understand how reiki works, helps, and heals through personal experience before moving on to helping other people.
    • Level 1 reiki students will also learn the history and basics of reiki and will be introduced to terms they can use to better speak and learn about the subject.
  • Practicing that can be performed:
    • After completing level 1 reiki, you can perform general reiki healing on yourself. You won’t be able to focus on very specific problems just yet, but you’ll have the framework you need to build upon in order to improve your practice.
  • Length of time it takes to master:
    • A few days to a few months.
    • This level can be quick to work through, especially since it mostly involves simple concepts and learning some vocabulary.
    • However, in order to truly, fully accept and understand the concepts that are present within this level, it can take a lot longer. Depending on where you choose to study, the reiki master teaching you may have different ideas of how long you need to spend on this portion of your studies.
  • Qualifications for moving to the next level:
    • You must complete your reiki attunement and show your reiki master that you can perform the tasks required for this level before moving onto the next.

Option 2

Otherwise known as: Okuden, or the Second Degree of Reiki

  • Topics that will be learned:
    • Students of level 2 reiki learn to dive deeper into the energy channels that flow throughout the universe. This makes it easier to begin practicing reiki on other people.
    • At this level, students will be assigned a symbol, which they can then use to work on practicing distance reiki and spreading positivity and healing throughout the world.
    • Students at this level focus on the Heart Chakra.
  • Practicing that can be performed:
    • When you’ve completed your level 2 reiki qualifications, you can practice reiki on other people. For a while, however, this should be done under the supervision of a reiki master.
  • Length of time it takes to master:
    • This level can be completed in one session. Therefore, it should only take a day or a few days to complete. With that said, however, many masters recommend waiting a little while afterward before moving on, so you can practice fully.
  • Qualifications for moving to the next level:
    • Understand and demonstrate the effects of reiki on the heart and mind.

Option 3

Otherwise known as: Shinpiden, or the Third Degree of Reiki.

  • Those who complete this level become Reiki Masters.
  • Topics that will be learned:
    • Students at this level learn an in-depth understanding of energy and how to share it with others in person and around the world.
    • Level 3 reiki students also gain information and experience that can, eventually, allow them to become reiki masters and teach or attune other newcomers to the practice of reiki.
  • Practicing that can be performed:
    • Upon completing this level, reiki students can practice reiki on anyone, whether in person or at a distance.
    • At level 3, reiki practitioners can consider opening their own practice or joining an existing practice if they wish to.
    • At this level, it is also possible to begin teaching others and educating them on the ways of reiki.
  • Length of time it takes to master:
    • It may take several months or more to achieve this level. In most situations, the reiki master in charge of your classes will decide when you’ve achieved all the goals they’re looking for and can receive level 3 certification.
  • Qualifications for moving to the next level:
    • Once this level has been completed, practitioners earn the title of Reiki Master. An existing reiki master must give you this title. You may also, from there, choose to focus on a specific reiki healing path and enhance your learning even more.


What happens when you gain all three levels of reiki? What does this mean for you, and what can you then do? Once you’ve obtained all three reiki levels, you can then become a Reiki Master. Your existing master must give you this title and decide that you’re ready to take on the responsibilities of this designation.

As a reiki master, you can open your own practice or offer services. You will obtain a certification that will allow any of your potential clients to feel more trusting of you and to understand that you’ve worked through all of the required levels to gain the skills needed to heal.

You might also choose to work on a different path that is related to reiki, or to expand your knowledge of certain techniques involved in reiki. For example, you might want to move on to becoming a yoga instructor as well, or you may want to learn how to incorporate crystal healing or herbal healing into your regular reiki practice.

Don’t forget, too, that you can host reiki circles and meetings, and you can even begin teaching others about how to tap into their reiki healing powers as well. There’s a lot you can do when you work through all three reiki levels, so if you’re interested, it’s time to find the right class and get started learning!

We continuously aim to implement our editorial practices and guidelines throughout our web site. This entails evaluating each of our posts meticulously and constantly doing our very best to present the most accurate information and facts possible for our audience. Please drop by our About Us Page for more details.

Thank you for visiting ReikiFascination. When you decide to buy via links on our website, we may possibly generate an affiliate compensation, at no extra cost to you. Please enjoy our website!